Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Are you all wondering what happened to Rashmi? Why is she keeping us away from all the scrumptious goodness in her life. Surely, even if the posts have gotten infrequent, the eating can’t have, can it?

And you are absolutely right, it can’t. And it hasn’t. I’m one of those crazy people who can not give up good food. Indeed, a good part of my day is spent on food related activities – when I’m not eating or cooking, I’m reading, talking or even simply dreaming about food. I spend hours and hours drooling over food photographs. Watching Food Network is even more engrossing. Tanmoy says it is more entertaining to watch me watching cookery shows than the shows themselves, because I look like a greedy pig feasting (alas only visually) on a variety of foods far beyond its little piggy imagination and sometimes there’s even a maniacal glint in my eye. The situation, in short, is getting quite out of hand.

All this, unfortunately, doesn’t always translate into a post because you know, sometimes life happens and also I, well, ahem… am er… well, lazy. But let me assure you, I am still alive and kicking. I mean cooking. And weekend brunch is still my favourite meal of the week. And I am still fascinated by meals that can be baked. So to remove all traces of doubt from your minds about my continued dedication to all things delicious, I present to you this awesome Broccoli and Potato Custard – a thoroughly satisfying savoury custard filled with the goodness of vegetables and eggs. One dish gives you your iron, calcium, vitamins and fibers through the veggies and proteins though the eggs and also your carbs from the potatoes. The sprinkling of cheese is optional, or you can choose a low fat cheese too, but really, what’s life without some cheese? And don’t let the term ‘custard’ mislead you – this dish isn’t sweet.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Prep time: 15 mins
Baking time: 25-30 mins
Serves: 2

WHAT YOU NEED:

8 Baby Potatoes
5-6 Spring Onions, thinly sliced
7-8 Broccoli Florets
2 Eggs
1 cup Milk
1 tbsp Dijon Mustard
1 tbsp Honey
1 tbsp Whole Wheat Flour
1/2 cup Cheddar Cheese, grated
1 tbsp Butter
Salt & Pepper to taste

WHAT YOU DO:

  1. Preheat oven to 375° C.
  2. Fill a medium sized pot with water and boil the baby potatoes for 15 mins. Drain and rinse with cold water to stop the cooking process.
  3. Boil the broccoli florets for 5 mins. Drain and rinse.
  4. Grease a medium sized baking pan with the butter. Mix the chopped spring onions, broccoli and baby potatoes in it.
  5. Whisk together the eggs, milk, dijon mustard, honey, salt and pepper until completely blended and pour over the veggie mixture in the pan. Give a gentle whack or two to the pan to ensure the liquid goes to the bottom.
  6. Top it with the shredded cheese (more or less, to suit your requirement). Sprinkle with dried herbs like basil or oregano if you prefer, or even red chilly flakes.
  7. Bake for 25-30 minutes until the custard sets and the cheese has all melted.
  8. Serve hot with tomato salsa.

MY NOTES:

I prefer the texture and taste of dijon mustard, but any mustard sauce can be used.

The custard sets quicker if less milk is used, but the texture is different – more ‘omeletty’ than ‘custardy’, but if time is at a premium, heck, why not?

