Tags

, , , , , ,

So, the chutney mania continues. I never can make just the right amount of chutney. My blender is partly to blame (yes, I am not above shifting the blame on to inanimate objects). It just doesn’t do a very good job with small quantities. So I always end up with bucket loads of chutney and then for a week or more, my menus revolve around it. I started with the Gola Bhaat, then made aalu parathas and umpteen chutney and cucumber sandwiches. And there was still plenty left. I needed something that would finally finish it, so that I could look beyond chutney, and not have a tiny green voice whispering in my ear ‘Don’t forget me‘ everytime I thought about what to make for dinner. I half-longed for my chutney-free days. Then I hit upon this recipe. And yet as I spooned the last of the green goodness onto the chicken, I felt a brief, mad qualm – no more chutney?! Oh how would life be the same without any more chutney in my fridge?

Ok, that was slightly dramatic.

Simply put, I made these succulent chutney chicken kebabs with the left over chutney. It is deviously simple. A complete no-brainer. And while it is technically an appetizer, we made a meal out of it. I pan fried the chicken, but if you have the luxury of a barbeque, grill it instead. It was too hot a day to heat up the oven for this, but I’m planning to oven-grill them then next time.

I also just realised that this is the first chicken recipe I am posting and the blog is almost 25 posts old! How did I ever miss chicken?! Its a mystery, it makes no sense at all! I’m a total chicken fan. There are days when I have chicken cravings and no, I am not even pregnant. Life is strange. I hope the chicken will forgive me for ignoring it.

I am in a slightly dramatic mood today. Did I mention that I kinda like chutney and chicken?

To go with the kebabs, I made this rich salsa with mushrooms and avocados. I’ve recently fallen in love with the creamy butteriness of avocados. I’m still learning how to use them though and have as yet mostly used them only in salsas. My next avocado mission is guacamole, but only after I figure out what I will do with it after I’ve made it. Maybe I’ll have to learn some mexican dishes to go with it! This salsa wonderfully compliments the heat of the green chillies in the chutney kebabs.

Anyone who tells me how many times I said chutney in this post gets a free pot of chutney.

Prep Time : 40 minutes
Serves : 4 as appetizers, 2 as main dish

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

WHAT YOU NEED:

For the kebabs:
2 skinless, boneless Chicken Breasts
4-5 tbsp Green Chutney
4 tbsp Olive Oil

For the salsa:
1 small Avocado, peeled and diced
10-15 White Mushrooms, sliced
1 small Onion, thinly sliced
1 medium Tomato, diced
2-3 tbsp Lemon Juice
1 tbsp Olive Oil
Salt & Pepper to taste

WHAT YOU DO:

  1. Dice the chicken breasts into bite-sized pieces and marinate in green chutney for 30 minutes. Make sure the marinade covers each piece well.
  2. Heat 1 tbsp olive oil in a non stick frying pan. Saute onions till translucent.
  3. Add sliced mushrooms. Mix well and cook 3-5 minutes until mushrooms are done.  Remove to a plate and allow to cool to room temperature.
  4. In the same pan, heat another 2 tbsp of olive oil. Once heated, add half the chicken, taking care to place the pieces in a single layer, not touching each other. Cover and cook on medium heat for 4-5 minutes, checking midway to ensure chicken is not sticking to the pan.
  5. Flip over each piece and cook the other side as well until golden brown. If any of the pieces are thick, brown the sides as well for a minute to ensure that the chicken is cooked through and no pink shows. Remove from pan.
  6. Add the remaining olive oil and repeat process for the rest of the kebabs.
  7. In a medium bowl, mix together the cooked sauteed onions and mushrooms and diced tomatoes. Add lemon juice, salt and pepper and mix well. Fold in the diced avocados gently and adjust seasoning.

MY NOTES:

The chutney marinade does stick to the pan even if you’re using non-stick, so be sure to add enough oil and to scrape out the bits stuck to the pan before the you cook the second batch of kebabs.

Do not over cook the chicken or it will get dry.

